top of page

$50 DIY How to Cut Quartz, Granite or Marble Countertop with a Circular Saw

Cutting a slab of granite quartz or marble is straightforward, and all you need is a circular saw, and diamond blade. Circular Saws can be purchased for 40 bucks, and the diamond blade is about $11.

Tools:

     Below are links to the lowest priced items exact or similar to what I used in the video. 

       1.   7" diamond circular saw blade. http://amzn.to/2xA4ZQ9 

 2. 7.25" circular saw http://amzn.to/2yG4D90

     Home depot has a new Ryobi for $39.99 which should do the job, although I used a skil saw in the video. 

If you don't like to read, and want to get straight to the point, here is the video on YouTube:

Set up:         Cutting granite quartz or marble is a very dusty process so you should invest in a dust mask and safety glasses and plan on cutting your slab in an area where you don't mind the dust getting everywhere.  Seriously, when you're cutting dry they'll be a cloud of dust floating around your house.           To reduce the amount of dust you can use water when cutting your slab. The tools listed above we're not meant to be used with water, and there's a risk of electrical shock. I've never been shocked myself, but it's always a risk. I used a GFCI outlet and basic electrical safety to reduce the risk.

Technique: 

       I started by placing  masking tape on my desired cuts.  Then using a felt pen, marked my cut lines on the tape using a straight edge.  Triple checked my measurements before cutting.

       I used a level clamped to the slab as a straight edge. I also freehand cut another section and it worked fine.  Set the depth of the cutting blade so that it will cut through the entire thickness of the slab.  I used a hose pipe running a trickle of water in front of the cutting blade when cutting wet. 

       The feel of cutting the slab is similar to cutting a sheet of wood with a very dull blade.  It'll take a few minutes to complete the cut. If you're cut off piece is large, support it so that it doesn't suddenly drop off when you complete your cut. If you don't,  you may get a chip during the last few millimeters of your cut.        I recommend practicing on an excess piece of countertop before making your actual cuts.   Also check out other youtube videos that show how they did it and come up with a plan that you're comfortable with.   I have no formal training on how to work with stone,  so If I did it, so can you!

bottom of page